RSS Feed

Meatless Meal Day: Bean Tacos

Posted on

Personally, I feel like we eat way too much meat. I am working on cutting down my family’s meat intake by having meatless meal days.

Making sure to get enough protein is still very important, so I am planning on using beans more liberally and other super protein foods.

My first meatless Meal Day is Bean Tacos and Guacamole. I call these Bean tacos my “whatever is in the cupboard” tacos, because I literally went through the cupboard and threw in whatever I had. DON’T JUDGE THE PICTURES (I haven’t unpacked my camera).

Bean Filling:

  • 3 cans of whatever beans you have in the cupboard. (I used kidney, black eyed peas, and black beans)
  • I can of corn
  • about 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbs or more (to taste) of chili powder
  • dash of slat and pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 3 tbs lime juice
  • 1 tbs garlic powder

Mix all of the ingredients together and set aside (best if chilled).

Guacamole:

  • 1 avacado
  • 1 tbs garlic powder
  • 1 tbs lime juice
  • 1/4 cup of your favorite salsa

Mix all of the ingredients together and mash the avacado. Also best if chilled.

Serve on corn tortillas (I prefer yellow corn) with mozeralla cheese for a light summer lunch or dinner that is fresh, healthy, and protein packed.

Leave a Reply

